Sandy victim accuses FEMA representative of discrimination | Redux

Sandy victim accuses FEMA representative of discrimination

Coca-Cola hybrid electric truck in New York City

Coca-Cola hybrid electric truck in New York City by cokestories
License (according to Flickr): Attribution License

Excerpt:

A New York man whose home was destroyed by superstorm Sandy is receiving quadruple the money originally allocated by FEMA after an investigator allegedly reported false information. Eddie Saman, of Staten Island, says he is receiving more than $30,000 to help repair his home, after initially being notified he would receive just $7,000, New York 1 reports. “I told him that I am Middle Eastern.”- Eddie Saman Saman told the station that the FEMA representative who came to assess the damage to his home repeatedly asked about Saman’s background. “I told him that I am Middle Eastern,” Saman said. “He said ‘no, I want the country. ‘ I said no I am not going to tell you where I am from because I am an American citizen.” After several phone calls, FEMA took another look.

People:

Eddie Saman

Overall Sentiment: 0.0501138

Relevance: 0.963916

Sentiment Quote
0 “I told him that I am Middle Eastern,” Saman said. …
0.0642044 “I told him that I am Middle Eastern,” Saman said. “He said ‘no, I want the country.’ I said no I am not going to tell you where I am from because I am an American citizen.”
Sentiment Stats:
  • Number of Quotes: 2
  • Aggregate Sentiment: 0.0642044
  • Mean: 0.0321022
  • Standard Deviation: 0

Sandy

Overall Sentiment: -0.240852

Relevance: 0.102532

Salvatore Barcia

Overall Sentiment: 0

Relevance: 0.100127

Sentiment Quote
0 “They looked at his neighbors’ reports and it didn’t go with the whole picture,” said Salvatore Barcia, …
Sentiment Stats:
  • Number of Quotes: 1
  • Aggregate Sentiment: 0
  • Mean: 0
  • Standard Deviation: 1.4142135623731

Key:

  • Aggregate Sentiment is meant to be an indicator of an individual’s overall sentiment.
  • The Mean is meant to be an indicator of an individual’s average comment sentiment.
  • The Standard Deviation, when there are enough quotes, will indicate an individual’s consistency of sentiment (i.e. a Standard Deviation of 0 would mean they were very consistent in their sentiment and 1 would mean they were very inconsistent).

Note that quote stats are likely to be meaningless beyond the aggregate score due to the tiny sample size. However, they are always provided just in case you find something useful there.

Source : Click

URL Provided Title:

Sandy victim accuses FEMA representative of discrimination

Provided Desc:

A New York man whose home was destroyed by superstorm Sandy is receiving quadruple the money originally allocated by FEMA after an investigator allegedly reported false information.

URL Provided Keywords:

  • american citizen
  • false information
  • fema
  • house
  • middle eastern
  • New York
  • privacy
  • staten island

~ by vandal3di3go on January 9, 2013.